Jillian Is Your Friend

{ramblings & chronicles on food x music}

Shoot & Performance Makeup: A Shortlist of Favourites

As opposed to my everyday look & make up products, performance make up is on the heavier side in terms of coverage as well as the ability to outlast sweat & oil from stage lights, costume changes, backstage antics & snacking. Should any of you care to know, my consumer habits are that of a 40 year old woman with a 20 year old budget. In buying my makeup products, it takes me around a month to finally purchase because it’s usually a process:

  • CHECK REVIEWS ONLINE – Good brands with good reviews especially from influencers whose opinions are honest & real strike gold for me. I usually check reviews – both bad & good – from from fellow consumers & then check what the experts (reputable bloggers/make up artists) have to say. This means going through numerous brand websites, videos & blogs for weeks.
  • PERSONALLY TRY PRODUCTS – I make my way to the nearest store to test out the product on myself for a period of time. This ensures that the product works on my skin tone & skin type. I usually apply a certain amount, go around the mall & check the wear by the end of the day.
  • COMPARE BRANDS – I also check other brands which may cost less but offer the same quality. Some department store brands are just as good if not even better than high-end ones. I do not mind paying extra for a brand that works for me, but finding an alternative at a lesser price is a big plus.

It’s important to note that what may work for me, may not work for you. It all depends on your skin type, the formulation of the product & your skin’s reaction. These are what I enjoy using & mind you, I am a very loyal consumer & don’t switch products very often. My merry mix of high end & drug store brands are ones that I have been using almost forever.

***

PRIMER: Smashbox Photo Finish Foundation Primer s1349968-main-Lhero I believe good skin is the best start for any look & I am a base product worshipper because I am anal & obsessed with skin. But sometimes I need help in achieving a pristine, smooth area to work in. This primer holds everything together & covers all the lines & rough spots which makes my face a good canvas for foundation. After moisturiser, I apply a small amount which does an amazing job of covering up every line & gives my face a velvety finish which makes make up look #flawless. Although they have colour correct, light & hydrating varieties, the original formula is the best for me. On the pricey side, but I really don’t mind because it works like a dream.

FOUNDATION: Revlon Photoready Foundation / Maybelline Dream Liquid Mousse P_Face_Foundation_PhotoReadyRevlon_PhotoreadyAirbrushdream-liquid-mousse-foundation_medium_pack-shot-crop Contrary to popular belief, there are actually good department store buys for foundation. First on the list is Revlon’s Photoready Foundation. I already used up 3 bottles of the airbrush variety which I fell in love with (super great for photos), but they discontinued it which really bummed me out. It may have been a little difficult to apply for makeup beginners, thus making it hard to sell. However, the liquid variety does just as well for my dry skin. Another value brand which does a great job is Maybelline’s Dream Liquid Mousse. It also offers an airbrushed finish which amazed me for its price – plus the pump is so convenient & sanitary! The quality gets amped up with the right primer & pressed powder. The only problem is looking for the right shade since the undertones are a little weird. All in all, it offers great coverage for value.

CONCEALER: Naturactor Cover Face Concealer 21208221858661_537 Lucky for me, I don’t have to conceal a lot except eye bags but I still consider concealer an essential. Naturactor is sold every three seconds in Japan. That’s how good it is. The best part is, even after layering, it still gives off a natural finish. The texture is easily blendable & the shades perfectly suit Asian skin tones.

PRESSED POWDER: MAC Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation / Fanny Serrano Two-Way Cake Foundation

mac-studio-fix-nc2020130315_160012_zps5e3082d6

I will never, ever, ever regret spending a couple thousand pesos on my Studio Fix. Velvetly, matte finish that does not need touching up, which in the long run, saves you money. The best part is that it is long-wearing & gives great coverage without me having to pat it on in layers. On the other hand, if you’re on a budget, FS Two Way Cake is the dupe of dupes. Almost a similar effect! It’s very matte which is perfect for onstage make up. Just be careful to brush off the excess as the tendency is to become a wee bit cakey. I apply both with a face brush instead of its sponges.

BROWS: Étude House Color My Brows x Face Shop Design My Brows Pencil / ELF Brow Kit OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAetude-house-color-my-brows-eyebrow-concealer-cover81301_eyebrow-kit_light To define, slightly lighten & keep my brows in place, I use Design My Brows (the angled tip & spoolie on the ends are so convenient) to brush & shape, plus Color My Brows as brow mascara. They’re also a good pair to use everyday without being too harsh. You just need to apply concealer on a brush around the area to clean up the excess since applying the mascara is a little tricky. If I want a darker colour, the ELF brow kit is an affordable wax & powder combination that also does a good job of keeping brows defined & in place. Just make sure to have a light hand while applying.

CONTOUR: The Balm Bahama Mama bahamamamama Ugh, best contour/sculpting powder ever. It blends easily (no streaks at all), isn’t shimmery & looks natural. There’s a lot of product for the price you pay which for me, is a steal. A word of caution: it’s highly pigmented, so one has to be careful in applying too much on your brush. And I just have to mention the size of its mirror & packaging. It’s a very underrated brand that works very, very well & lasts me an entire show & beyond. The register on photos is natural but noticeable too!

EYESHADOW: Urban Decay Naked Basics 1 / Lorac Pro Palette 2 urde0693f_1_l2275379 If I could have only two eyeshadow palettes forever, these two would be it, no second thoughts. For simple everyday or natural beauty makeup, Naked Basics 1 has you covered. The shades are the perfect natural colour selections & are all you will ever need. The other Naked palettes are quite overrated because I feel that the colours are too similar to each other. A great & super underrated eyeshadow brand is Lorac & I am in love with its Pro Palette 2. The texture is highly pigmented & feels like butter! Blending it is a breeze & they last quite long. The shades in the second palette are a beautiful mix of satins & mattes with breathtaking (yes, I used this adjective) colours I can use off & onstage (the Plum, Jade & Navy colours are standouts while the Nectar & Light Brown are staples for a natural beauty face). You can create any look with this palette — from drag queen to innocent child. It even comes with a primer that does a good job. Pramiiis, you will not regret it.

EYELINER: Nichido Professional Grade Eyeliner Pen & Minerals Precise Eye Pencil Nichido+Minerals+Precise+Eye+Pencil+in+Chestnut+ReviewIMG_0065 Both are readily available at any department store, are well-priced & of good quality! For the pencils, they glide on easily, stays crisp & doesn’t smudge unless I do it on purpose. Definitely one of my favourite cheap staples.

MASCARA: Maybelline Volum’ Express The Falsies volumexpressfalsieswaterproofpackshotcrop I love it & makes your lashes look super long & thick without looking too fake or clumpy. Also endures my stage tears. End of story.

BLUSH: Nichido True Colors Powder Blush DSC05558 Another product from this affordable but quality brand are their blushes! The finish is matte & is pigmented. What I love about it are the colour choices which are very flattering for almost any skin tone & matches almost any lipstick shade. It looks quite natural, but noticeable. The colours are also buildable if I need more colour for the stage. I highly recommend these shades in this order: Cool Rum, Blushing Pink & Sunkissed.

LIPSTICK: MAC Pro Longwear Lip Pencil / NYX Soft Matte Lip Creme / Happy Skin Shut Up & Kiss Me Moisturizing Lippie mac-style-driven-pro-longwear-lip-pencils-2 509x420-shutup-groupshot-02NYX-2014-Soft-Matte-Lip-Creams-Zurich-Athens-Cairo-Ibiza-Prague-Cannes-Copenhagen-Transylvania-Morocco-Swatches-Review Someone I know once said “no amount of tidal wave will wash off my MAC lip pencil.” And it’s true. I define my lips & colour in if I need super defined shape & pigment. I also use it as a lipliner to keep my other brands of lipstick in check. The NYX looks amazing in photos, but dry lips may be a problem, so I always apply balm before slicking it on. Colour is buildable which makes using their more bold colours not so intimidating. Happy Skin is also on my lipstick holy grail since it changed my life (AKA super dry lips). Pigmentation, colour choices & moisture gets six stars from me. I usually get pink, nude & random bold colours just so I’m prepared for any look. The different kinds of lipstick depend on my mood but these three are my favourites to use behind the camera or onstage.

***

I could go on & on with my skin prep, kinds of false eyelashes & brushes, but I shall save those for the next lengthy post! As I grow older & my pay check (hopefully) fatter, I aspire to try other heavy duty brands such as Make Up Forever or Kryolan. But for now – and for the last few years as a performer – these products have yet to fail me. *Stolen photos from the internet, credits to owners.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 2, 2015 by in Uncategorized.
