Jillian Is Your Friend

{ramblings & chronicles on food x music}

Almost-Quarter Life: Turning Twenty-Four

Yet again another delayed post thanks to work & a lot of other shenanigans for these past months. But I have to say my birthday this year was a fulfilment of my mature wishes such as hosting a cocktail party for the same set of people I’ll be inviting forever. Before I get ahead of myself, let me rewind.

The eve of my birthday, I was actually working backstage for a concert featuring songs from musicals, which isn’t so bad if you think about it. I enjoyed singing along backstage & doing the usual production stuff I had to do. It ended around 11 PM & I was ready to go home & hit the sack after such a busy week. Besides, I had to do my remaining grocery shopping the next day.

But my bosses dragged me out to have a post-concert dinner even if I was full from backstage’s food. Once we were seated, I was surprised to have a Victoria’s Secret box shoved up my face by my boss. “Happy birthday!!! Open mo na!!!” she screams. Then some waiters come by to sing me a birthday song with a cute red velvet cake. It was a small birthday salubong from them all! I got a bunch of sexy lingerie (which I just HAD to open in front of everyone, sheesh) & some fancy Italian appetisers while Giovanni, our concertmaster got me a bottle of limoncello. Fun!

From top left clockwise: limoncello, red velvet mini-cake, Limoni al Forno & Caprese plus Quattro Formaggio pizza

From top left clockwise: limoncello, red velvet mini-cake, Limoni al Forno & Caprese plus Quattro Formaggio pizza

It was a low-key celebration which was a great way to meet *gasp* 24 years of existence. I went to sleep looking forward to what the next day would bring. A week ahead, I already sent out invitations with a “1960’s Cocktail Hour” theme in mind. I didn’t require them to wear costumes, but I promised them the whole shebang.

Invitations

Invitations

For the decorations, I put Christmas lights in my accent wall as well as embellished our unit with buntings of Anne Taintor images on feminism & drinking which were a pretty great touch. My colour palette was a mix of black, white & greens. Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset I decided on a birthday menu that was simple but fancy at the same time. I decided on serving 3 kinds of wine & mojitos along with munchies & a Pavlova cake The Dork ordered from Delize to add to the “mature” vibe unlike my crazy rainbow cake last year. I also played my favourite 60’s jazz – from Dusty Springfield to Jobim for that smoke-filled speakeasy feel as well. Yes #medyocareer.

Event menu which I had placed in the table complete with drink pairings

Event menu which I had placed in the table complete with drink pairings

Melon, prosciutto & mozzarella skewers

Melon, prosciutto & mozzarella skewers

Cheeseboard in a Cup: Apricot & Almond Cheese, Nuts, Grapes, Dark Chocolate, Saltine Crackers

Wild mushroom bruschetta

Wild mushroom bruschetta

Food table

Food table

Same people as last year came by & we had so much fun being old & sitting around, talking & laughing like the *cough* mature people we are. Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset Nothing more I could ask for – friends, food, fairy lights. Despite the nights I’d stay up to re-evaluate my life choices & panic about my financial status, I’m embracing 24…one wine bottle at a time.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 3, 2014 by in Etc..
