Jillian Is Your Friend

{ramblings & chronicles on food x music}

Twist Restaurant: Interesting Fusion

Pos Building at Timog Avenue seems to be my new favourite place to drop by! It houses several coffee shops, watering holes & restaurants that aren’t crowded, serving good food with an interesting ambiance & friendly staff. One of these places I looked forward to visting was Twist — a fusion restaurant with the tagline Comfort Food + Difference. I hear it’s a place that serves old favourites with a (well, duh) twist.

It has been a couple of years since I hung out with some college friends which is quite hard to believe because we’ve been living & working in the same city. The long weekend called for some catching up & as usual, it was up to me to choose where — just like the good ol’ days. Most of them come from the south so I was surprised they all agreed to my request of hanging out in my side of town.

I was the first to arrive so I had a chance to reserve a table for our group. The interiors screamed fun! I actually don’t have any adjectives on how to describe it — collaged walls, chandeliers, aged wood ceilings & artistic chairs. An interesting mix.

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset

As I waited for my friends, the friendly staff entertained me by engaging me in a conversation about what the restaurant offers — something I truly appreciate! I really love restaurants with a staff that know the menu in & out as well as exert effort in making the diner feel comfortable. I decided to order the waiter’s top recommendations.

First on the list was 1000 Ways To All-Day Breakfast (Php295). Why 1000 ways? There are were probably a thousand combinations you can make with this breakfast set. You get to choose three viands (I chose USDA Beef Sukiyaki Tapa, Honeycured Porkloin Tocino & Limepeel Tinapa), garlic rice pilaf/toast, two eggs (cooked as you please — some even had a combination of one hard boiled & one sunny side up) & coffee/tea/orange juice/apple juice! It was fun on how we all ordered the same dish but had different combinations.

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset

Other viands to choose from: Maple Beef Belly Bacon, English Corned Beef, Naked Longganiza, Airdried Seafood Bounty. The food was not excellent, but not bad either. Perhaps how they were named on the menu raised my expectations. It rated 3 on my 5 star meter.

If there was something I enjoyed, however, it was my dessert. Got myself the most ordered item on the menu (and I can see why): Famous Twist Cookies with Goat’s Milk (Php190). It was a set of 6 cookies you can dip in milk. The flavour selection blew me away:

  • Kimchi Nutella – Super interesting! Fudgy & chocolatey when suddenly it ebbs away & bam! A sting of spice! I was giggling while eating these.
  • Matcha Blanco – If you do not normally like matcha treats or green tea, this might change your mind! It’s much milder & is more on the creamy side.
  • Triple Xoclat – People know I love a dish when my nostrils are flaming & this is exactly what happened. It was crusty on the outside & gooey in the centre without being too sweet.
  • Lemonpeel Cheesecake – A wonderfully homey flavour although I wished it had a tad more pucker to it.
  • Honey Walnut Oat
  • Speculoos –  Honestly could not tell the difference between the last two. Nevertheless, very comforting cookies whose flavours & texture remind you of cute grandmothers.

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset

Although dubbed “single serving,” the dishes were good enough to share for two. Other dishes in the menu included aperitifs, pasta & mains such as Porchetta Roulade (Php480), Herb-Grilled Porkchops (Php415) & Hainan Chicken (Php375).

A few peeves: (1) waiting time for the food takes a little longer that usual, (2) the music was pretty annoying. As in bad YouTube covers or too slow bossa covers & (3) additional VAT & service charge aside from the price of your food so it’s best to bring a little extra.

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 presetDaily, there’s a happy hour, half price on all drinks starting 10 PM! But we decided to move to the 3rd floor of the building at Tomatokick. Also a cool place to hang. Wishing there was a band/DJ playing the night we dropped by.

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 presetTwist is open Monday to Saturday 10 AM to 2 PM & 10 AM – 10 PM on Sundays. Located at 2/F Pos Building, Tomas Morato Avenue cor. Scout Madriñan, Quezon City. Tomatokick (Branch 3) is at 3/F of the same building.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 3, 2014 by in Food.
