Jillian Is Your Friend

{ramblings & chronicles on food x music}

Rustic Mornings: Brunch Made Pretty

As always, I fall deep & hard for lovely spaces, what more if they serve good plates of breakfast food! A sucker for both brunch entreés & rustic touches, Rustic Mornings by Isabelo was a restaurant that topped my Places To Eat In list. I have been meaning to go since last year but my schedule never permits.

My Sundays when I’m miraculously not working, start by waking up late, savouring my bed & doing nothing half the day. Laziness is a luxury! By the time lunch rolls in, I meet (who else) The Dork & we have a nice meal & go to church. That particular Sunday, we decided to go to mass at (gasp) 8 AM & have a breakfast date somewhere out of the way. Of course the breakfast part was my idea. We get up at (double gasp) 6 AM & meet for early mass. After fumbling with the GPS & getting rejected by a cab driver (hahaha), we manage to locate Rustic Mornings within the charming town of Marikina.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I was smiling like an idiot in my dress & lace cardigan non-stop. I did not mind waiting for a table (it gets super full on weekends even early in the morning). Although I wished we had gotten a table inside, the outdoor areas weren’t so bad either (sans mosquitoes). It was filled with plants & nice details here & there. A cozy vibe for enjoying your breakfast at a slow, chill pace.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

“This feels like we’re in Tagaytay, not the city!” I enthuse. We open the menu & we are pleased with the selections & prices. It’s a mix of Filipino comfort food with Southern cuisine. Luh eht.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Mr. Tapa-face orders (ano pa bi) the Beef Tapa (Php235) from their Pinoy Breakfast Tray selections. It was a hearty serving of savoury-sweet tapa, rice, two sunny side up eggs & some vegetables on the side. The indication that he licked the plate clean tells me that he liked it. He likes it basic so he got himself some frothy iced tea.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I order for myself a serving of Waffles, Buffalo Chicken Strips & Salad (Php250). I am usually not a fan of waffles since some are too dry, but this one was done right — fluffy, buttery & sweet. The salad & chicken was seasoned just right & the portions were more than enough. I paired it with a carrot, mango & something shake. It was yummy too. But wishing I got coffee instead — I was a little sleepy already.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Also wanted to try other dishes, so we got a Country Omelette (Php185) – a fluffy egg concoction topped with diced potatoes, peppers, ham & seasoning. Ciabatta slices, jam and herbed butter added value to the dish. I would have wanted a creamier omelette, but the potatoes more than made up for it.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

We were only more than happy to have a change of routine & atmosphere. Sunlight, greens & fresh air were very welcoming. We were disturbing the families nearby with our manic laughter while discussing relationship framework (don’t ask me, he started it!) while sharing a slice of Key Lime Pie (Php200).

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I couldn’t miss taking a look at the indoor dining area & oh, it was a page ripped right out of my mental book for home décor in the future. Charming was an absolute understatement. The walls were adorned with carefully curated trinkets.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

It even had a church nearby & I couldn’t help but think it would be a nice place to have a reception after an intimate daytime wedding. That Sunday, I got an extra dose of beautiful — food, surroundings & vibes.

Rustic Mornings by Isabelo is open daily 8 AM-4 PM. Located at #11 Isabelo Mendoza Street, San Roque, Marikina. Map can be found in their website linked here.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 1, 2014 by in Food.
