Jillian Is Your Friend

{ramblings & chronicles on food x music}

Recipe: Garlic & Rosemary Simmered Pork Steak

Living alone in a big city & not asking for any money from my parents would mean one of my worries are my meals. Most of the time, I succumb to the fast food/instant noodles/MiniStop trap, but if I have the budget, I go out to eat somewhere nice. Other times, I am in between — searching for quality food when I’m short on cash. I can cook basic dishes, but this fast-paced lifestyle makes it difficult to prepare my meals on a daily basis. If I have the luxury of time (as well as energy), I whip something up in my humble kitchen.

The entire week of take-outs & fast food was killing me, but I was short on my budget to dine at my preferred restaurants. So I decided to take matters into my own hands. Thankfully, I had a free weekend (for the longest time) & was able to do my groceries & cook. I particularly wanted steak, but settled for a less pricey alternative: pork steak! I brought three chops since I decided to invite The Dork over as well. After a quick run over my recipe booklets, I settled for Rosemary & Garlic Simmered Pork Steak. With a few modifications & a lot of estimation, I came up with a really good dinner. It’s fairly easy & I will share the recipe here:

ROSEMARY & GARLIC SIMMERED PORK STEAK

Ingredients

  • 3 pieces pork steak (choose one with a lot of marbling)
  • 1 tsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 tsp dried rosemary
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 1 cup beef broth (I used a bouillon cube, Knorr, instead)

IMG_7012

  1. Rub the steak with a little olive oil & seasoning: rosemary, pepper & salt. I broke off half of the bouillon cube, crumbled it & rubbed that on as well. Make sure it is thoroughly distributed. Put in a container (I used a ziplock) & refrigerate overnight.
  2. Melt the butter in a skillet (frying pan for me) & stir the diced garlic in until fragrant. Place the pork steak in & cook for 3-5 minutes or until golden brown. Flip over to the other side & do the same.
  3. Meanwhile in a saucepan, I poured in the broth at medium heat & let it boil a little. Put in the cooked steak & turn the temperature to low. Let steak simmer for 30-45 minutes.
  4. Be careful not to use too much beef cubes! If your steak comes out a little too salty, you can remedy it by squeezing in a little lemon.

And there is your pork steak! I also prepared some red rice, side dishes & dessert — Dark Chocolate S’mores. For the side dish, I made quick Lemon Butter Green Beans. Here is the recipe:

Ingredients

  • A bunch of green beans
  • 1/2 tsp of salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1/2 lemon
  1. Wash & cut beans in half.
  2. Steam green beans until tender, but still crisp, about 5-8 minutes.
  3. Place green beans a frying pan, and while they are still hot add in butter. Toss & stir fry until butter has melted.
  4. Add in lemon juice, pepper & salt. Toss to coat.

IMG_7031

IMG_7032

Quite happy with how the steak turned out & the entire dinner itself!

2 comments on “Recipe: Garlic & Rosemary Simmered Pork Steak

  1. LFFL
    November 23, 2013

    Love the smores there!

  2. ball
    March 6, 2014

    Thank you for share.It very nice.I like to eat Pork Steak.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 23, 2013 by in Food.
