Jillian Is Your Friend

{ramblings & chronicles on food x music}

Trader Joe’s Speculoos Cookie Butter: What Sorcery Is This!

If you’re still Instagramming Nutella, then you probably haven’t looked around at the amazing variety that spreads these days have to offer! Nutella is a classic, but even I who adore anything classic, always manage to expand my horizons. There’s Biscoff Spread, Ovamaltine Cream, Kaya Jam & even Reese’s Spreadables. I love this trend. One of the most popular in this clique of sweet thangs is Trader Joe’s Speculoos Cookie Butter.

Wait. What. What is this speculoos that I speak of? Because of my fascination for high tea, I happened to discover that these are spiced shortbread biscuits originating from Europe. Dashed with cinnamon, ginger & nutmeg, these are a nice side to your fine china (if you decide that macarons are too sugary…or expensive).

Thank you, Google images

Thank you, Google images

Speculoos are EVERYWHERE nowadays: gelato, ice cream, cupcakes, pancakes & where it all began — spreads. I found out about this creation a couple of months ago when I read about it on a food blog which lead me to click on other food blogs. There were raves about this thing called Cookie Butter. Say wuuut? Cookie butter? What is this shiii? My favourite food blogger, Lori Baltazar raves about it too (see here)! I was sold. I need this in my life.

I find out they sell it for PHP525 at some stores in Rockwell & Greenbelt. I looked for it deli after deli, specialty shop after specialty shop, but all our conversations followed a similar pattern: “Ubos na po, sold out palagi.” “Really?!” “Oo, ano ba yan kasi! I haven’t even tried it myself!” “When yung next stock?” “You have to write your name on our waitlist, ma’am.”

It killed me. The waitlist, the shortages, the high demand  — they all spiked my curiosity & I whined excessively about it. Lucky for me, The Dork surprised me & I don’t know HOW he did it, but he got me both varieties (creamy & crunchy) in a short period of time!

With free baby donuts as a bonus!

Dork gave me baby donuts as a bonus

Was it worth the trouble? Oh yes it was. It was unlike anything I tasted before. Like, shall we put it, sophisticated peanut butter. My tastebuds sort of got confused at the unusual flavour, but as I consumed more & more of it, it tasted better than the last time! Like cookies made spreadable! I spread it on everything: biscotti, muffins, donuts, kaya buns, apples, my finger. But my favourite was when we made toast, slathered it on then topped it with bacon strips.

IMG_4573

“We’re going to die early & not even in a cool way,” I say to The Dork. So sinful, so good — I wanted to recite the Act of Contrition then & there. It’s also wonderful company while you’re having your coffee or tea.

I find myself finishing a bottle in 3 weeks’ time. I’d buy more, but it takes weeks, even months to purchase. We’re really passionate about this product, so we thought, why not bring it to Iloilolandia? AND SO WE SHALL.

sandiegosugar

Photos from sandiegosugar.com Photos from sandiegosugar.com

We’re bringing Trader Joe’s Speculoos Cookie Butter to Iloilo on June! We’ll be taking orders, but we have very limited stocks only. Drop us a message at 09175762502 for your queries, details & orders. We sell at a lesser price, too!

Give yourself the pleasure of Cookie Butter. For your breakfast/merienda/teatime/dessert/anytime. You can bake it into cookies or brownies. The possibilities are semi-endless. They weren’t kidding when they said “you have to taste it to understand.”

3 comments on “Trader Joe’s Speculoos Cookie Butter: What Sorcery Is This!

  1. Pingback: Recent Eats and Buys | Operation 101: Explore Life

  2. Kloie
    November 17, 2013

    Too expensive. 525? I bought the two varieties here in iloilo for only 395 each.

    • jillianisyourfriend
      November 19, 2013

      Hi, Kloie. This was months ago back when there weren’t any cookie butter spreads available in Iloilo. In Manila, they sell it at P500 as well because it was hard to acquire & ship at that time. But now that it’s readily available, I don’t sell these anymore & the prices have gone down as well.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 22, 2013 by in Etc..
