Jillian Is Your Friend

{ramblings & chronicles on food x music}

Persian Panic: Babak’s Kabab

I remember a throng of attempts at Persian (or Iranian for those who didn’t like world history) restaurants back in Ledesco Village in Lapaz. But like all exotic cuisine restaurants in this city, they all faded out.

Most luckily, brave souls decide to venture once more because a very affordable Persian restaurant in Mandurriao opened. Babak’s Kabab serves kababs, potato patties, hummus & more. My lovely friend Quayne drags me on a tricycle to Mohler Buliding (near Ateneo de Iloilo) & we were happy at how everything was cheap, yummy & that the staff was kind enough to explain the food to us. The place was a little outdoor eatery with small touches of Iranian decorations on the counter.

The menu consists of:

  • Kababs (beef, chicken mixed with vegetables) – Php35-65/serving
  • Rice & Breads (saffron rice, barberry rice, plain rice, buttered roti, chapati) – Php15-35
  • Side Dishes/Dips (yogurt, hummus, yogurt & cucumber, ox brain) – Php20-50
  • Others (vegetarian patties, potato patties) – Php17-45

They also have rice set meals which included kababs, chicken & stews with starchy, thick sauce that make my mouth water at the smell.

We order a Samposte (Php17) first as an appetizer — something similar to a samosa. It surprised us that it was big & the filling was filled with mild spice, potatoes & meat. Add the sauce & it had us not talking to each other for minutes.

Next came our main dishes. I ordered a Sizzling Kabab (Php50) which was a set meal of plain rice & kabab in gravy sauce — a good choice for those not familiar with the rest of the cuisine. Quayne ordered a Beef Kabab (Php40) with Saffron Rice (Php25) — a good combination since the saffron rice complemented the kabab so well. They had a lot of rice which was good!

Sizzling kabab with the yogurt eggplant dip in the background

Beef kebab & saffron rice

We also added a Yogurt & Eggplant Dip (Php40) which would have been lovely with bread but we used it to put atop our rice & dip our kebab. I am big fan of eggplant & this had me moaning in my seat. So good. A little similar but quite different, I think I love Iranian cuisine than Indian. Its spices are milder which to me makes me eat more.

There’s even shisha if you don’t feel like eating but I highly suggest that you do! The place is a little noisy as it is by the roadside but I’d most definitely go back for some more.

Babak’s Kabab is open from 10 AM – 10 PM daily & 5:30 PM – 10 PM on Sundays. It’s located near Ateneo de Iloilo, corner of R. Mapa Street & Pison Avenue, Tabucan Mandurriao.

8 comments on “Persian Panic: Babak’s Kabab

  1. Quayn
    June 7, 2012

    zac saffron rice! will post this at babak’s kabab fb page ha.. mwah! *big hugs

  2. Hyde Berlin
    June 15, 2012

    Hahaha! I’m a friend of Babak’s… and I approve this message 😉 Nice blog!

  3. earsplittingreality
    July 1, 2012

    I’d love to visit Iloilo I love persian food! 🙂

    • jillianisyourfriend
      July 6, 2012

      Please do! Iloilo is home to lots of underrated, homey cuisine. You never leave the city without complaining of eating too much!

      • earsplittingreality
        July 8, 2012

        Oh yeah? My brother keeps visiting Ilo Ilo and he would always bring a Piaya. I just can’t remember the brand but it’s delicious. I bet what your saying is trueeeeeee!!!

  4. gtharv
    September 17, 2012

    Looks Yummy!!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 7, 2012 by in Food.
