Jillian Is Your Friend

{ramblings & chronicles on food x music}

Zatazza Cafe: Serving Good Meals Too

Del Carmen street used to be home to a restaurant with spareribs that I loved when I was a kid. Now it’s home to a cafe/restaurant that I enjoyed today.

Zatazza is tucked in the not so busy corners of Del Carmen Street in Jaro. You won’t miss it when you ride a Jaro Liko Tagbak jeepney. I always wanted to check it out but due to time constraints & since the place was a bit off for my usual routes, it had to wait for Christmas holidays. Finally had time to visit with my lovely rabbit of a friend, Kristina. The place was lovely & quiet. And made out of bricks! I like bricks.

I am personally trying to lessen my caffeine intake, thus my newfound (not really) love for tea. I was quite happy with their tea selections which you may pick between iced or hot — all at Php40. I chose iced Lively Lime & Orange Fusion Tea whilst Innah ordered a glass of Citrus Crush — mint & lemonade. Both were wonderfully refreshing.

For our meals, all were reasonably priced between Php90-150. I picked Baked Penne with Sausage & Mushroom (Php90) while she ordered a meal of Grilled Fish Fillet with Tartar Sauce (Php90). It was charming how they served pasta in a large cup & the melt-in-your-mouth fish & the salad that came with it definitely made our day.

What’s more, we commend the waitresses for being so kind to customers & being very knowledgeable about their products & what type of food to suggest. It spelled a difference & god, I wish all waitresses were like that. They suggested we try some dessert so we try their White Choco Cashew Cookies (Php18/pc) & Lemon Squares (Php20). They fit in the “okay” description but I’d love to try some more pastries (& more tea!) the next time.

Zatazza at Del Carmen Street in Jaro is open from 10 AM-12 MN on Mondays to Saturdays & 2 PM to 12 AM on Sundays.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 29, 2011 by in Food.
