Jillian Is Your Friend

{ramblings & chronicles on food x music}

Siam: The New Krua Thai

I was disheartened to know that Krua Thai, my all-time favourite Thai restaurant would be closed!

But I let out a sigh of relief when I found out they would only be relocating near EMCOR, quite near to their old location. So one day I go with a couple of friends because my heart & stomach tells me so. Krua Thai is now under the name Siam & the dishes are unchanged: authentic & delicious — which makes my insides flutter.

You can readily find Siam at the side of Diversion Road before turning to Smallville. A big red sign greets you & when you open the door, your eyes devour neo-Thai interiors. And those tables. Gosh, they’re lovely.

I do the ordering of course, and I am happy with my picks for the day.

Mango Salad Rolls (Php95 for 6 rolls)

Tom Yum Soup (Php200 for small sized bowl)

I immensely enjoyed the two appetizers: Mango Salad rolls were a good alternative to my usual vegetable rolls as they were flavorful & the added mango dip was a sweet touch. Kind of like having dessert first or as the twins said, “Daw peach mango pie.” The Tom Yum Prawn soup is my ultimate favourite & at that first moment of sipping it, I suddenly wished I were in my pajamas at home while the rain poured down. So heartbreaking how KR couldn’t eat it because of the prawn.

Pad Thai Vegetarian Noodles (Php160)

Cashew Chicken (Php180)

We absolutley loved the Pad Thai & the Cashew Chicken drove me nuts (hee get it?) with every bite. I love Thai food & its being savoury without being too sum-od to the palate. Definitely comfort food material. The Thai Iced Tea (Php75) went great with all the flavours too! Make sure you order Fish Flakes with Green Mango salad & try the new pork dishes they have at Siam. Pricing & food quality didn’t change although the old restaurant had a wonderful feel to eat. Nevertheless, I love it the same way I love Krua Thai.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 28, 2011 by in Food.
