Jillian Is Your Friend

{ramblings & chronicles on food x music}

Starbucks Coffee Seminar: Enriching My Coffee Experience

Starbucks has become a habit of mine as it is very accessible from my school whenever I need a plug for my laptop, a comfy couch, a decent place & of course, excellent coffee. The Student Lounge at school has been too packed lately thus my almost daily visits. I happened to discover on those visits that a coffee seminar would be given on the 25th of August. So I signed myself up & told some friends who I know enjoy coffee as much as I do. The barista said “You won’t regret it.” And I sure as hell didn’t.

I arrive at Starbucks at 9:30 in the morning and the seminar has already begun — and I was pleased to know that we would be learning what went in our coffee, how to tell apart different kinds of coffee, complimentary pastry to one’s coffee, the correct way to experience coffee as well as trivia. I don a name tag with the name of my favourite drink below my name & was esctactic when the first few cups were distributed. No caffeine in my system yet, but I was already perky & excited.

Espresso, latte, cappuccino, cafe mocha & coffee jelly were just some of the starters for our session. Each were described in detail and the cute little cups were bursting with caffeinated goodness, steamed milk or foam. Perfect way to start my morning, I say.

After the shots of espresso-based coffee & discussing their differences and caffeine content, we were treated to tiny frappuccinos that exuded loud “awws” from my friends & I.  Too adorable. And too delicious.

The next part was a lecture on how to correctly drink coffee (slurp, not sip!) and a tasting of brewed coffee from different parts of the world. We were given coffee from Tanzania, Sumatra & Guatemala then discussed their aroma & flavour, which to me, was very interesting and informative. What I loved were the pastries that came along with them. It felt like Christmas to me — each bite alternating with gulps of premium coffee that enhanced every flavour in my tongue.

Afterwards, more discussion followed and a few games every now & then. The mezzanine area of Starbucks was filled with eager coffee fans, both die-hard & caffeine dependent souls as well as rookies who simply want to know more about coffee. The interactivity of the seminar was wonderful & of course I couldn’t stop raising my hands too much. What made the experience truly enriching was not the free coffee, free pastries (well…okay, mostly the reason why) but the company shared & insights gained. All these for no charge. I’m glad I never took second thoughts about signing up.

Join the next Starbucks coffee seminar! Ask a barista near you. I left the store smelling & tasting like coffee. Needless to say, I loved it.

P.S. Since I am obviously enamored with caffeine, I might start a blog purely dedicated to cafes & their culture. What do you think?

9 comments on “Starbucks Coffee Seminar: Enriching My Coffee Experience

  1. Melissa
    August 25, 2011

    What city was the one you went to in?

    • jillianisyourfriend
      August 25, 2011

      Hello Melissa! It’s the branch here in Iloilo City, Philippines.

      • Melissa
        August 26, 2011

        Showes how little I know about Starbucks, I wasn’t aware they operated outside of the states.

  2. junnmendozajr
    August 25, 2011

    San-u ayhan ang next nga seminar man?? 😀

    • jillianisyourfriend
      August 26, 2011

      We were asking gani, they said they’ll just post announcements. I’ll post about it next time 🙂

  3. whyte
    August 26, 2011

    Hi Jill
    I had no idea they have this kind of thing. i really need it since I’m a noob when it comes to coffee hehehe. is there a limit in the number of participants?

    • jillianisyourfriend
      August 26, 2011

      None at all! They welcome anyone & everyone who comes in. A great venue for people who want to learn about coffee.

  4. ersaturnino
    August 30, 2011

    I haven’t even entered starbucks iloilo branch yet! i need to know what to order first before i go there. u should suggest what drink i should get! too many choices. a cold drink would be great! ^,~

    • jillianisyourfriend
      August 31, 2011

      Although I’m not a frap person, any frappuccino is a good choice for any newbie 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 25, 2011 by in Etc..
