Jillian Is Your Friend

{ramblings & chronicles on food x music}

Heaven In A Cup: Madge Coffee

Coffee is a staple in my life as I get daily headaches without a dose of it.

I have been a coffee-taker since high school: starting out with that raspberry blend in Ground Coffee on Mondays after class, going with the flow at Coffee Break, having my first gourmet cup at Starbucks, progressing to Bo’s & eventually trying (and failing) at making my own coffee. Heck, even my email address ID is drivenbycaffeine. So you can tell that yes indeed, I love my coffee. And tea. And cafes for that matter.

Most of the time, I take anything caramel-based or lattes. I am not a fan of frappucinos because I think whipped cream defeats the sole purpose of tasting what coffee should taste like: warm, comforting & that strong but sweet flavour that rushes through your veins & arteries. And what I call a good cuppa joe leaves a lingering taste in my tongue. And sometimes, simple things are the ones that deliver the most. And sometimes these fancy cafes can’t even serve good, simple coffee. Which is why Madge Coffee tops my list.

Inside the Lapaz Public Market is a hidden gem that serves the best coffee in Iloilo City, hands down. Madge Coffee has been around since the 1940’s & I could distinctly remember my parents bringing me here with them after those early morning marketing trips when I was little. It has only been recently that I have tried to become a regular customer. Albeit a bit out of the way, I try to drop by everyday for my regular dose of caffeine. If you care about your coffee & not about atmosphere, then this place is for you. Tons of people seem not to care when they have tried a cup. Madge has had several citations in food magazines, TV shows, newspapers & even foreign blogs. Talk about good coffee!

At Madge, you spend a whopping amount of (wait for it) — Php20 for coffee sent from heaven. Php30 if you like it iced. All blends go well with the puto, ibos & bread that they have available on hand. What  amazes me aside from the coffee is the fact that all the workers already know if I prefer my coffee strong, mild or with milk. The traditional way of preparing coffee (no espresso machines or coffee makers) is a sight that fascinates as well.

A large portion of the cafe’s walls are covered in mugs with names of regular customers. Some of them have even been customers for 15 years, imagine that! Another point of interest is that even bigtime politicians, health buffs & businessmen prefer to visit this place for their regular cuppa joe & debate (quite loudly) about the latest events to hit Iloilo city.

One day perhaps, I could own my own mug. But for the time being, I continue to enjoy a simple glass or cup of coffee in the busy bustle of the market while I space out in utter enthrallment at a place with so much history. Indeed, the simple things in life can make you the happiest.

11 comments on “Heaven In A Cup: Madge Coffee

  1. bummingaroundpilipinas
    July 19, 2011

    your blog always make me crave and drool… lol

    the proof of a good food blogger. 🙂 nice one jillian!

  2. tin cc-ong
    July 19, 2011

    I really should drag myself and my husband to this place — it’s fairly near where we live and I’ve heard a lot about it.

    I love your photo of the mugs on the wall. ^_^

    • jillianisyourfriend
      July 21, 2011

      Thank you! You really should, their blend is an amazing mix of organic & instant coffee.

  3. tin cc-ong
    July 21, 2011

    I visited on the 19th! Their coffee is yummy! My husband and I want to visit more regularly — ^_^

    I forgot to order the ibus!

    (We brew our own coffee for breakfast using a Crups. And we sweeten our coffee with condensed milk <– seemed like the easiest way to balance the "cream" and "sugar")

  4. thecolorisbeige
    October 18, 2011

    Hello Nang Jill! Me and my friends (Raffy, Erk, Nika and Jax) went to Madge’s because of this blog post!!! HAHA. Their coffee was very mouth-gasmic [excuse the expression ;)]. It’s already one of our ‘secret sanctuaries’ and we now hang out at Madge’s all the time! ❤

    • jillianisyourfriend
      October 19, 2011

      That’s great! You’re Bea’s friends right? So happy you like it!

      • thecolorisbeige
        October 19, 2011

        Haha yep! I was there during her birthday. Nice blog, nang! 🙂 😀

  5. ruvi madrid
    January 30, 2013

    hi ruvi here. do you have contact number of madge cafe? thanks a lot =)

    • jillianisyourfriend
      February 23, 2013

      Hi, I’m sorry but I don’t 😦 The owner is very approachable though. If you’re from Iloilo, you can go over to Madge & talk to him, he usually mans the cashier 🙂

  6. Pingback: The Iloilo Diaries: What I Missed | Jillian Is Your Friend

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 19, 2011 by in Food.
