Jillian Is Your Friend

{ramblings & chronicles on food x music}

Cream Overload

It’s not everyday that I, Jillian, lover of all things rich in carbohydrates & flavour, look for something sweet.

Well yeah I get my daily dose of chocolate & cupcakes before I go to sleep but panam-is is different. Filipino pastries do not get much points in my book but lately I’ve been partial to these kinds of sweets. Hormones maybe?

My stomach led me to Margec’s – somewhere along Quezon Extension (street between SPED & Central School). Chelle & Par brought me here along with Nads & Riely one day after our yearbook pictorial in order to sate our sweet tooth but not blowing our weekend budget. Nads & I were bemoaning the fact that we didn’t bring our cameras with us. Thus my return to Marcgec’s!

The place is a turo-turo type of restaurant which claims to serve the original cream horn. They also served napoleones which to me is blasphemy when it’s not from Bacolod (I’m sorry but I have a love affair with Pendy’s). But I give them both a shot anyway.

The cream horn (Php12/pc) was lovely. The crunch of the outer dough was just right but once you sink your teeth in, in crumbles delicately & the sweet cream invades your mouth. I feel as if I bit a cloud from heaven. Not too sweet, not too bland. Just lovely.

The napoleones (Php12/pc) however was another story. Margec’s has two kinds of cream: regular & chocolate. I prefer the regular one over the chocolate as the latter is too sweet for me. Both were not fresh when it arrived on our plate so it was not airy & crunchy. Instead, they were chewy. And weird. But the oozing cream made up for it somehow.

Not only do they serve sweets, they serve lunch dishes at Php69 as well! Their spareribs & honeyed chicken seems to be a hit among the lunch crowd. They also have boneless mushroom chicken herbed fish in mango sauce. They all sound so yummy!

I will, one day, sit down & order all dishes for myself. And help myself with some cream horn while I’m at it.

6 comments on “Cream Overload

  1. princessjeza
    February 24, 2011

    omg. napoleones. 🙂

  2. anythingyummy
    February 24, 2011

    another sweet blog ^,^ for 12php? awesome!

  3. kimberly
    March 3, 2011

    yeah nice

  4. Angelica Vicente
    December 29, 2011

    we r not claiming to be d product (cream horn )is ours is there for years its frm my dad

  5. Mythe p
    August 10, 2012

    i wanna try their napoleones!


    sweetoothedangel.blospot.com

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 24, 2011 by in Food.
