Jillian Is Your Friend

{ramblings & chronicles on food x music}

Wok It To Ya!

It’s been a while since I ate at a Chinese restaurant (and posted a blog entry for that matter) but fear not! This one is quite new so you need not worry for those of you who want to eat somewhere new.

Along the realms of Valeria Extension is a little place called Emperor’s Wok. Understated & tucked alongside hardware stores, this franchise from Manila is my new go-to in case I want something savory in that Asian way.

I was a bit apprehensive eating here as my mom was the person to bring me here. We have very different taste in food but I was surprised upon the good service, food & variety that Wok offered. So I return there once more armed with my camera & a good friend.

I really love how Wok‘s menu is hugely diverse & conveniently priced. They have large variation of soup, noodles, chicken, beef, pork, squid, fish, vegetables, tofu & seafood in big servings. Talk about multiplicity! And take note that the most expensive thing on the menu costs Php350 only.

I ordered the specialty of the house: Mowang Sipa (Php95 for 5 pcs) & Oyster Cake (Php140). Both dishes are a delight to the taste buds & stomach. The Sipa is a deep fried dumpling which has beef filling & a delicious sauce which I cannot get enough of! I love the little twist on the top which enables the eater to hold it while chomping it down. One bite has me craving for days on end. I swear you have to try this dish.

As for the Oyster Cake, it’s basically an omelette of bean sprouts, spring onions, onions & oysters. It might sound strange but the dish tastes good as well & is good for 3-4 persons already. Top it off with yet another special sauce & you have a match made in heaven!

I also ordered a Fish Fillet with Tausi Rice (Php75) from the Emperor Rice Tops set. Last time I ordered Chicken with Garlic Sauce & Mandarin Chicken. I have to say, at prices starting at Php69, these sets can fill you up to the brim. As for taste, the Tausi is my ultimate favourite! Chili Beef, Sweet & Sour Pork & Beef Broccoli is also available.

I really want to try their Stuffed Tofu (Php150) & Stuffed Chicken Wings (Php150) next. I have a feeling I’ll be coming back to this place often. But there’s always their ’till 10 PM delivery!

Emperor’s Wok can be reached at 3381929 & is open from 10 AM-10 PM on Mondays to Sundays.

2 comments on “Wok It To Ya!

  1. anythingyummy
    February 23, 2011

    jill, where ni gne ang resto? ive seen this place before. nalipat gd ko kun diin nga steet. hehe im very much intrigued w/ the oyster cake. a must try! 😀 thanks for another delightful post 🙂

    • jillianisyourfriend
      February 24, 2011

      Thank you! It’s somewhere near Valeria Extension. If you come from Robinson’s, you pass by the road that leads you to PBCom/Marymart Mall. It’s at the right side of the road among hardware stores.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 23, 2011 by in Food.
