Jillian Is Your Friend

{ramblings & chronicles on food x music}

Newest Discovery: The Garden Cafe

Coffee Break isn’t the ultimatum when it comes to coffee in Iloilo, you know.

There are so many other cafes out there that provide less commercialized & delicious coffee. Sometimes it’s not even the coffee anymore. It’s the whole experience of sipping on your latte as you chill out or perhaps do your work in a soothing atmosphere. Personally I love Bo’s for their coffee blends. Then there’s Book Latte, Dulgies & many more. However, I have discovered a new favourite. Folks, meet The Garden Cafe.

View from the street

The old house/Korean English school beside SM Jaro is now a cafe-library. I interview the staff as usual & they tell me the business is a partnership between a Korean & Filipino. I step inside & I am utterly impressed by the interiors as they are not what I expect to be! Sleek with an old world feel but having hints of Korean cuteness. Shelves of books, chalkboards & a computerized database add to the library feel of the place.

But what did I come here for? Yes, coffee. I take a look at the menu & see hot coffee, frappes, smoothies & iced drinks. All drinks are within the price range of Php60-85. I order a Choco Frappe (Php80) while Nikki who is amazingly available this afternoon orders her Espresso Crumble (Php80). The Choco Frappe tastes like an unpgraded Chuckie & the Crumble is wonderfully strong. There isn’t any food on the menu available yet, but they are giving out free waffles for opening week! How wonderful is that? And to think I came from Dulgies looking for waffles!

Not to mention their staff really made our day. They were very very accommodating. The cafe’s operating hours are usually 5-11 PM on weekdays (limited time because of the English school) & 10 AM-11 PM on weekends. We arrived there around 3 PM but because they were so accommodating & I was probably so charming (haaa), they allowed us to go in. Wi-fi is password free, no minimum fee needed to avail of it. And as if that’s not enough, we got a 10% discount because it was opening week. I don’t freaking need Starbucks in Iloilo anymore thankyouverymuch!

The Garden Cafe gets my vote over Coffee Break anyday!

9 comments on “Newest Discovery: The Garden Cafe

  1. looooch
    January 26, 2011

    I must visit this soon. :))

  2. Chyna
    January 28, 2011

    I always enjoy your photographs, very nicely done. I am a person who enjoys her cafe and thank goodness there’s a new one to visit. TY!

    • jillianisyourfriend
      January 31, 2011

      Hopefully these crafty cafes will grow in number, not merely the commercialized ones. Thank you!

  3. totoyguro
    April 16, 2012

    Thanks to a friend and this blog I have found what I just had a glimpse of last october during my first visit in iloilo 🙂 I badly wanted to visit it but it wasn’t in the itinerary and I was on a work trip anyway. Now I’m on my second visit here, I can’t wait to visit it! 😀

    • jillianisyourfriend
      April 18, 2012

      Have fun! It’s a nice place to unwind!

      • totoyguro
        April 21, 2012

        Sadly they closed it down I think 😦
        I went there three nights ago and it was closed

      • jillianisyourfriend
        May 1, 2012

        Confirmed! They did! 😦

      • totoyguro
        May 1, 2012

        so sad! good thing na-try mo 😛

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 26, 2011 by in Food.
