Jillian Is Your Friend

{ramblings & chronicles on food x music}

The Best Sushi In Iloilo

I always love a good Japanese meal. But add great friends & superb food & you have a combination that’s lethally fantastic.

I’ve always bemoaned how people rarely go with me whenever I ask them out to eat. Most people nitpick at my schedule, place of choice or cuisine I am drawn to. Or some are just busy with their lives & boyfriends (I don’t have both so I’m a free bird). But lately my college friends feel sorry for me (haha) so they finally said yes after a month of  my persuasion to dine out together. And the best part? My pick! So where did I choose to go? I picked Hamada at Plazuela de Iloilo.

Innah’s tweets some time ago on how good the sample sushi she tried made my mouth water, hence my longing for eating there. So off to Hamada we went for a good lunch. The decor said typical Japanese restaurant & the staff was attentive enough. At the start of the meal we already had sample appetizers & tea.

We ordered some Chicken Teriyaki, Yakiniku & a couple more dishes I totally forgot about because I was too excited to eat. One dish I couldn’t forget though was the Crazy Maki (Php200/8 pcs). How was it? Well let me tell you. It was gastronomic orgasm. As soon as it touched everyone’s tongue, you could see our eyes either closed with pleasure or widened with delight. Yup, it was that good. I hate myself for not ordering some sashimi & more sushi but there’s always a next time. But oh god, it’s crunchy outer coating, shredded crabstick toppings & delicious viscera was — can I use profanities here please?

The price range for food are as follows:

  • Specialty Sushi/Sashimi – Php30-60/pc
  • Maki Rolls – Php165-330/8 pcs
  • Tempura – Php180-300
  • Teppanayaki – Php220-325
  • Teriyaki – Php200-500
  • Rice toppings (tempura, katsudon, gyudon) – Php195-200
  • Specialties such as Sukiyaki (Php380), Yakiniku (I recommend this! Php270) & Yaki Udon (Php260)

Dishes are good for at least 2-3 persons & quite small for our group of 8.

Their rice is a little bit pricey so I suggest trying their sushi or rice toppings for a more sulit meal. Albeit the prices, the food is very, very good. One has to unquestionably try their sushi! After going about my rounds in several commercialized Japanese restaurants, Hamada‘s sushi is the best I’ve ever had, hands down. And thank you friends for catering to my request! I love you all! And Hamada!

Hamada is located at Plazuela de Iloilo near the main stairs & is open for lunch at 11 AM-3 PM & dinner at 6 PM-10 PM.

9 comments on “The Best Sushi In Iloilo

  1. Nadine
    January 12, 2011

    I have to agree with the title! Btw, sa diin ang atun ya pic nga duha? abi taga.i ako copy! haha

    • jillianisyourfriend
      January 12, 2011

      I sent you a private album on Facebook. Thanks for eating with me today guys, I am so happy (tears in my eyes)! Food was so worth it.

  2. Nadine
    January 13, 2011

    A little pricey for servings that are small, but definitely worth it in the taste department.

  3. Kirz
    January 20, 2011

    thanks for the info…:)was the food justified by its price?

    • jillianisyourfriend
      January 23, 2011

      I find the sushi really good. As for the dishes, they were simply “okay.” A bit pricey for small servings.

  4. tin cc-ong
    March 5, 2011

    Hi!

    I found your site while googling Hamada —

    Might try it tonight with my family.

    Great blog, btw!

    I’ll add you to my daily reads. ^_^

    • jillianisyourfriend
      March 5, 2011

      Thank you so much! I’m just a college student so it’s not a daily habit of mine to blog but I’ll try my best. Thank you for reading, it means a lot 🙂

      • tin cc-ong
        March 7, 2011

        I read through all of your entries —

        It’s amazing that I’ve lived in Iloilo for 5 years already and there’s still a lot of places here that I haven’t been to.

        Oh, I read one of your entries where your mom made nachos for you — try this:

        Buy a can of Chili No Beans at Iloilo Supermarket Atrium
        and a bar of Cream Cheese.

        Plunk contents of can into a pot and stir in bar of cream cheese. Stir until melted.

        Enjoy with nachos. ^_^

      • jillianisyourfriend
        March 7, 2011

        YAY! A new recipe to try! I’ll try sharing more recipes!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 12, 2011 by in Food.
