Jillian Is Your Friend

{ramblings & chronicles on food x music}

Branching Out: Uncle Tom’s Jaro

Steaks, chicken & ribs moved to a new place in Jaro, Iloilo City.

Uncle Tom’s is a long-running restaurant famous for its fried chicken, ox tongue, potato salad & chocolate cake. Thinking about it makes my mouth water with delight. A recent experience at their Jaro branch however has left me & my whole family dissapointed.

Upon first setting my eyes on Uncle Tom’s Jaro, the Mexican-inspired exteriors & the fine architecture made me want to eat there so bad. After a few exchanges with the waiters however, my awe for the place deflated like a popped balloon.

It was quite annoying that after handing over our orders, they had to come back a few minutes later to tell us that the said dish wasn’t available. Not only that, this happened around four times much to my mother’s displeasure. The orders took too long to arrive as well. Talk about disheartening! The waiters needed to be trained for proper customer service too.

To add insult to injury, the food prepared was just horrid as compared to the good food they always prepare. My potato salad (used to be my favourite) was soggy & was too salty. My iced tea had no ice. Brother’s beef strips were rubbery. Thankfully, my brother’s blue marlin & my parent’s tenderloin were just fine.

It is always important to never rush with openings. Restaurants with a good name & large following need to concentrate on its service, inventory & most importantly, its food. Branching out need not lose the quality of the years they spent in building the restaurant’s reputation. I think I’ll stick to the Diversion Road branch from now on no matter how pretty the Jaro branch is.

2 comments on “Branching Out: Uncle Tom’s Jaro

  1. toitee
    January 15, 2011

    The potato salad is my favorite too! I’ll remind myself not to order one in this branch. HAHA

    • jillianisyourfriend
      January 15, 2011

      I’m not the only one complaining. I found out lots of people have the same concern with the food & service. But time will tell, I hope they make the situation better.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 3, 2011 by in Food.
